Getting back to my pre-season 12wbt tasks (the first one being “introduce yourself”- but you already know me) I thought I better crack the whip and get them done.

For task number two, Mish asks us to list our excuses. Most of my excuses are around food – mainly because 90% of the time I have no problem getting to the gym and working out. Although I do have to admit, that lack of motivation sometimes does hit me – and this is included in my list of excuses below.

These excuses are divided into Internal Excuses (the self talk), External Excuses that I can control (eg. weather, schedule) and External Excuses that I cannot control (eg. crisis at work).

Internal Excuses:

– I’m too tired to get to the gym today
– I don’t have the motivation. I need a friend to go with me
– I am too busy at work to do that lunchtime class after all
– There aren’t any classes on at the right times
– It’s too hard to find something healthy to eat while I am working/ takes too much time to prepare my meals
– I should be doing something else
– I have been trying so damn hard and not seeing any changes, I may as well give up
– This week is too busy with xx social functions on

Solutions to these Internal Excuses:
 
– Just get the damn shoes on the feet, get out the door and JFDI. Even if it’s just a walk, I know I will feel better having done SOMETHING
– No one can do the exercise for me. I can have support, which is great, but it is only me that can want this for myself. Hook up with gym buddies where I can, but do not let my schedule slip if I am feeling unmotivated. That will only make me feel worse about it.
– Get changed into my gym gear early for those lunch time classes, so I am already to go and have no excuses
– Find classes that fit within my schedule and do those. If none fit – then use the 12wbt gym machine programmes, or do a workout outside. Go for a run!
– Spend time on Sunday nights preparing my food plan for the week, doing the shopping and cooking and freezing meals so they are easy and quick to grab
– Ask Jason to do the washing/ cleaning so that I have time to focus on my food plans
– Don’t give up. Results will come when all the pieces of the weight loss puzzle combine. My body is different to everyone elses and I will see changes eventually
– Social functions – do I REALLY need to go? Will they miss me if I am not there? Or can I turn up late AFTER my workout? Make my workouts a priority
  
External Excuses – within my control
 
– It’s not my kitchen/ fridge (living with the in-laws) and there is no space for me to cook/ store my meals and food
– I’m too busy, there are a billion things on right now
– We get home so late (1 hour commute) so it’s too late to start cooking a meal
– It’s too hot/ It’s raining
– We eat out so much for work (lunch meetings, dinners etc) that how can I say no?
  
Solutions:
 
– Ask the M.I.L if I can store a few things in the fridge. Choose meals that are quick and easy to put together and require few ingredients. Plan ahead for the week and cook multiples and store in the fridge
– Schedule workouts in my diary at work, block out the time so that no one can request meetings then. Get changed into my gear early so that I can say “sorry, I am just off to the gym, can I catch up with you on that when I get back?”
– Create meals that I can just grab and go for the nights I am late home
– If it’s hot or raining – exercise in the air conditioned covered gym
– Look at menu’s before I go to restaurants and choose what I am going to order. Work out the calories prior. Or just say NO! I don’t need to be at every lunch/dinner!
  
External Excuses – Outside my control
  
– I am sick or hungover
  
Solutions:
 
– Don’t be hungover in the first place! Reduce alcohol, eat healthily when I am sick to help my body recover faster

So there you have it – those are my honest and truthful excuses, the things that are holding me back and dragging me down. I need to break through the self sabotage and just DO it because these excuses are roadblocks to what I want.

What kind of excuses do you have?

