Ok, time to undo the jeans. Monday we dined like kings. Tuesday at lunch/dinner we dined like kings. Last night was another king dinner. OH MY. Luckily the rest of the time I am not eating much, so I don’t feel too bad about it. And hey, I am here for such a short time – it would be a WASTE not to make every meal an amazing one.

A quick recap:

Monday night – we dined at a restaurant called Public on Elizabeth street, SoHo. These guys were catering for us at my event, and I was keen to try out their dishes. A lot of the food and wine is “down under” inspired, with dishes including Tasmanian Sea Trout and Kangaroo. The dish I selected was Confit belly and roasted tenderloin of Berkshire pork with salsify, apple puree, sage shortbread and watercress. It was absolutely DIVINE, along with a glass of New Zealand Pinot Noir.

To finish the night up, we saved ourselves for dessert and wandered down the road to a cutesy placed called Rice to Riches. All it served was flavoured rice puddings – kind of like an icecream bar! I chose Apple pie and Gingerbread flavoured rice pudding and topped it with brownie crumble, while my colleagues chose an assortment of Tiramisu, Pumpkin Pie and other wacky flavours. It was so yummy, but there was a distinct feeling that it was not the healthiest option (the sign on the door saying “Eat right, Exercise, Die Anyway” might have been an indicator). I barely managed to make a dent, but we had a lot of fun trying!

Tuesday my colleague took us to his favourite restaurant for lunch – an Italian joint called Lupa (170 Thompson). We had a fantastic waiter who selected antipasto for us, including Beets with Pistachio, Brussels Sprouts with Local Apples, Prosciutto Di Parma, and Clams with Fregola & Basil. It was a taste sensation.

For my main, I ordered Ricotta Gnocchi with Sausage & Fennel which was supreme. We finished up the meal with an aperitif which was so good – and made the afternoon go so much faster!

Before I knew it, we were headed out to eat – AGAIN! Dinner was at Public’s sister restaurant – called Double Crown (316 Bowery, at Bleeker). Possibly a more asian inspired menu, with plenty of seafood to keep me happy. Again our table of 10 shared dishes of raw oysters, forever crisp chicken wings, salt & pepper squid, and prawn dumplings. For my main I couldn’t go past the seared scallops in a cashew chilli relish, with a side of chinese brocolli in ginger dressing. My mouth is watering again thinking about it!

Finally, last night after my big opening event we went to Salt (58 Macdougal). There were over 2o of us seated at two long tables, taking up most of the restaurant. Unfortunately I can’t find their website to indulge you with what exact fantastic tastes I selected – but I will say this: Entree of chicken liver mousse, dates wrapped in bacon and tossed greens followed by Salmon in a balsamic reduction on brussel sprouts, and braised mustard greens.  

One thing I have noticed – Brussel Sprouts are really “in” here – they are on every menu, and you know what – they taste AWESOME. It’s obviously all in the way you cook em!

New York City Restaurants – you are truly amazing. xx

