Over on twitter, we have been having quite the discussion about what makes the perfect sports bra. Unfortunately – I have yet to find one! It got me thinking about sharing with you what I wear to exercise. This is the stuff I find the most comfortable for the types of classes & running that I do. 

Just a quick disclaimer – yes, I work for Icebreaker, and yes, I wear a lot of it. Hence the abundance of Icebreaker gears below. But the stuff really is the shiz. ‘Nuff said (don’t need to launch into the spiel on my own blog haha! Ask me if you want to know more).

Starting from the top – on my head I generally wear an Icebreaker GT Quantum Headband. I like having a headband on because it keeps the hair out of my eyes, soaks up the sweat, and if I am running – it helps keep my iPod earbuds in place. Also in the winter it keeps my ears warm!

Icebreaker GT Quantum Headband

Under that, and in my ears is my iPod Nano. I am super old school and have a 1st generation 4MB one, but it does the trick so haven’t felt the need to upgrade yet. I have it in a armband which I wear on my upper left arm. I also wear it upside down so that when I am running I can lift my arm and see what track is playing! For running, I use the Nike+ iPod kit – this has dramatically changed my running! I love the graphs and the motivation it gives.

iPod Arm Band

Right, onto the torso. I currently use Nike crop top style sports bra’s, but am looking to change. I like the support they give me for general gym classes – but feel I need something a little extra for running. Gotta keep these puppies supported you know! If anyone can recommend a good one then let me know!

Nike Bra

Over the top I generally wear an Icebreaker GT Dash Tank – I have this in 7 different colours! I like wearing a tank because I prefer having my arms free, and also because I don’t like crewe tops that come up round my neck. My chest needs to breathe otherwise I feel all claustrophobic!

Icebreaker GT Dash Tank

If I am RPM-ing it, I do tend to wear sleeves – something like the Icebreaker short sleeve Dash Zip. I like being able to let the zip right down and get even more air to my chest. Helps me go faster I reckon 😉

Icebreaker SS Dash Zip

 If I am running outside, or in the winter, or it’s just cold for the warmup track in the gym, I layer an Icebreaker Long Sleeve Chase Zip over the top. This is one of my favourite garments – I currently have a purple and a black one, but definitely going to get more!

Icebreaker LS Chase Zip

Bottom half. In winter I wear Nike Dri Fit leggings. I find them reallly comfy & stretchy & come to the right length on my legs. In summer I have a couple of pairs of Nike shorts – but I particularly like these ones below. How cool is the hot pink on them? And when you flip the waistband down it says “Just Do It”. That’s some motivational talk for the peeps behind me in class right there!

Nike Dri Fit

Nike Shorts

If I am RPMing it, I wear SUBride shorts (gotta bit of padding for the old behind) and take my own Velo Gel Tech seat to class. Padding, loooottts of padding! (again, it makes you go faster!).  

Velo Gel Tech Seat

I wear Icebreaker Run socks coz they are THE most comfy socks ever. Hands down.

Icebreaker Run Lite Micro Socks

And finally….SHOES! I have a couple of pairs that I am alternating between including a Brooks pair that I got from Shoe Science (yes, ok, the fact that they were pink & purple TOTALLY came into it) and a white Nike pair.

Brooks shoes

Nike Shoes

 

And there you have it. All the things I wear for exercise. What about you guys?

